Can You Really Blame Him?

August 1, 2009

So, I had just finished importing all 19 of my posts from the past year into this nifty new WordPress software (that happened to eat all 7 comments, somehow… sorry Lawncare Jake and sammy, my only two guests so far!) when I overheard the barrista ask another coffee shop employee: “Did you hear about that 7-year-old in Utah who hopped in his parents car and took off to get out of church?

I almost spit coffee and espresso straight out  my nose. I immediately checked YouTube, and this is the most hilarious thing I’ve seen this year. At the end, the kid gets out and bolts like lightning for his front door. I wonder what the pursuing officer thought?? If you haven’t seen it  yet, here is the footage of Preston Scarbrough, the 7-year-old Utah boy who hopped in his parents’ car and successfully drove home, because he “didn’t want to be at church.” Anyone want to place a bet that Preston will be an atheist by the time he’s 10? Is church in Utah really that untolerable?

Here is what Preston told the Today Show..

(I was) grounded to my room for four days, no TV, no video games.

All I have to say is, I hope my son can drive that well by the time he’s seven!

Leave a Reply

