The Thing That Actually Started Me Towards Atheism

September 25, 2009

It wasn’t some long, drawn out series of events, but rather something simple: I got knocked out, and I had no recollection of anything whatsoever. I know that sounds strange or maybe like a cop-out, but that’s the deal in a nutshell. I remember thinking, “Wow, I really can be ‘just dead'” and it was quite a new but perplexing thought.

So, it wasn’t that getting knocked out made me an atheist, not at all what I’m saying. What it did was get me thinking about a whole range of possibilities I refused to explore previously to this incident. I never really thought about much of what they were teaching in church; just kind of went through the motions, tried to make sure my mom and dad were happy, and that everything was cool. When dad or uncle “Elmo” (not his real name) would start going on too much about religion, well, I’d get deeper into video games. So what that means is, I didn’t get no real time thinking about death and stuff. I just swept it under the rug and tried to not shake the boat. Now, as I get older, I feel like yelling a big “Fuck you” to that.

I was raised religious, I just don’t feel like a spiritual person at all. Every day seems kinda mundane to me, but I don’t mean that as in, “I think life sucks and I have no hope.” I also don’t think less of my parents or brothers and sisters because they keep on being religious. They’re the same to me; I love ’em the same anyways. Their socks still stink.

2 Responses to “The Thing That Actually Started Me Towards Atheism”

  1. baysailor Says:

    That’s interesting about being “knocked out”. End of consciousness – for a while. Look up a blog of a woman Greta Christina (GretaChristina.typepad.com) who had a similar event – anesthesia knocked her out – and she felt “non-existence” which kind of propelled her toward the conclusion there might not be an afterlife. I can relate to having a lot of religious relatives. I do too. Also, I am in S.F. Maybe we’ll cross paths someday…

  2. Godless Randall Says:

    Well shit! Looks like there’s quite a few atheist bloggers in this here Bay Area!

    I guess you were talking about her post where she talks about surgery? If so, yeah, that’s pretty much what I’m describing here.

    Thanks for your comment, sorry it took forever to get back.


Leave a Reply

