Book Recommendation: Way Of The Peaceful Warrior

October 7, 2009

A good book gives me the same feeling as a good road trip: it lets me escape and process the new input. Too often, too easy, the day can become too humdrum. Not so with a good book!

I know, I know.. the title sounds like some cheesy Zen movie or something, but get over it. The book itself was written by a guy named Dan Millman, and for someone like myself who doesn’t really connect with that “mystical” or “spiritual” side of life, this book, which would technically be classified as a “New Age” or “spiritual” book, is actually pretty damn inspiring. It kept me walking around with that “fresh” feeling where it seems like I’m looking at life through different glasses, maybe even no glasses at all. I won’t give too much away other than that it’s the story of a kid with an inner longing for a mentor. The kid is a perfect description of the real-life kid who’s lured towards religion. I know because I’ve been that kid! But, check it out and enjoy the story of “Socrates.”

There are a few more books in this series, and I might as well check them out. Even a movie! (they’ve got movies at the library here) Like I said, I’m not necessarily the “religious” or “spiritual” type, but I can kind of vibe out on these ideas of consciousness or other “selves” even if we’re talking more about something like a useful metaphor. The ideas make sense and you don’t have to accept any particular dogma to believe them. If you have any good books, I’m all ears for a suggestion.

Leave a Reply

