Some Things Make You Say, “Huh?”

October 14, 2009

Alright, let me get this out of the way right up front: I’m not that into politics, and I’m not no WASP sympathizer. I voted for Obama; who wouldn’t have when given McCain? Thing is, I’m not that much of a “political party” type of guy. They seem like tweedle-dee and tweedle-dum to me, if ya know what I mean. Here’s my point, my rant for today:

Why the fuck did Obama get a Nobel Peace Prize? For crying out loud, the damn country he represents is in the middle of bloody war! Soldiers likely died while that very award was being given. Doesn’t anyone think this is weird or ironic or HYPOCRITICAL? To repeat myself, I’m not hating on Obama. I tried to share these ideas with a friend the other day, and they looked at me like I’d commited blasphemy. I’m not hating on Obama. I’m just saying, I really don’t see that much of his promises have materialized in the year since he’s been president, but hey it’s only been a year. What really gets me is the president of a country at war accepting the Nobel Peace Prize. That seems.. I dunno.. weird?

No offense to the man who was clearly the better choice and made history, and who seems like a down-to-Earth and level headed leader, but can we really give the Nobel to the leader of a country at war? Is there a parallel to the Bushie? Something like an Obamite?

Leave a Reply

